Board Of Directors

The Calgary Spartans Track and Field Club is governed by a Board of Directors in accordance with its Constitution and Bylaws.  All Board members are volunteers and are elected annually at the Annual General Meeting held in October of each year.

The 2018 – 2019 Board of Directors is as follows:

President – Alisa Lane
Alisa Lane is a Registered Nurse and mother of two young adults in university, one of which is a track athlete. When she’s not spending her days and nights dodging snot, blood, and vomit in the Children’s ER, she logs a ridiculous amount of time volunteering. With peripheral vision like a hawk and arms like an octopus, she sees the big picture and has her hands in many endeavors. She has the memory of an elephant, the patience of an angel, and a heart the size of the sun. She is passionate about making the Calgary Spartans the best version of what a premier track and field club should be.
Vice President – Evelyn Burnett
Evelyn has been a member of the Calgary Spartans since 2004.  She was an avid track and field athlete in her youth and was excited to find a Master’s Athletics program at the Spartans just before World Masters Games were held in Edmonton in 2005 where she began competing again.  Although she enjoys trying to keep up to the young athletes while training at the track, her passion is to support Spartan athletes and coaches and help make the Spartans a premier club that young athletes want to choose to get great coaching, make friends, and strive for success.   Evelyn joined the Board in 2005 and has served as Treasurer for a number of years.  In addition, she served as Business Director and VP Admin for Athletics Alberta for three years.
 Treasurer – Haidar Moubayed
Haidar’s background is in supporting operations, compliance, and advising on cost efficiency. He currently works for Imperial Oil. He volunteers with Imperial Oil’s “Days of Caring”, whereby employees volunteer with various charities around the city. Haidar has taken on leadership roles with his employer including initiatives to go “paperless” and to “work better, rather than work more”. Haidar has a passion for fitness and soccer. He still competes at a high level in the City. He wants to teach his kids to have a passion for sport. His daughter trains with the Spartans. He believes the discipline and other benefits that training will bring to her will set her up for success in life. Haidar wishes to join the board to be involved in supporting the organization that provides his daughter with an excellent environment to train and be active.
Secretary – Sarah Sanni
Sarah joined the Calgary Spartans as a sprinter in 2012, and now operates as Board Secretary. She is passionate about sports, biomechanics, and improving healthcare standards. Over the years she has received awards and scholarships from the Spartans’, as well as a love for team development. Some of her favorite activities include: enjoying a beautiful hike in the mountains, volunteering, and weight training in her free time. As a former Calgary Spartans’ athlete, Sarah is dedicated to bringing a unique perspective to the Board of Directors.
Registrar – Sharon Evans
Sharon Evans has been a Master’s athlete for 6 years, 2.5 of which with the Calgary Spartans.  She has served with two Track & Field organizations, previously as Vice President with the Spartans in 2014, and as a jumps coach with the Greyhounds in BC from 2015 to 2018.  These experiences have given her the opportunity to see three sides: athlete, board member and coach.  Sharon has also worked in the non-profit sector in both Alberta and BC for over 10 years.  Her work background includes administration and program coordination.  She is comfortable with all aspects of administration and has experience with a variety of databases.  Sharon looks forward to being one of the first points of contact in the role of Registrar with the Spartans.
Director –Matt Phippen
Matt has been on the Spartan board for over 1 year as Equipment Director, currently ordering all new equipment and managing inventory levels. Matt has been a competitive distance runner over the years and has a daughter in the AD program over the last three years to which she is currently one of the top ranked sprinters in the province.
Director – Jill Middleton
Jill joined the Calgary Spartans in 2018 as the Assistant Coach for the Distance group and was quickly brought onto the Board as a Director soon thereafter.  She has a passion for running and has competed over the years in track, cross country, 10Ks, half marathons, triathlons and various trail running races.  She co-founded and co-organized the Wood Buffalo Trail Running Series in Fort McMurray from 2012-2016 which brought trail running races to the community.  Jill enjoys being involved in the running community and coaching the Spartans.  She is excited to bring her organizational strengths, technical skills and passion to the Board!
Director – Peter Bassett
Peter Bassett is a director of an Engineering firm and is the father of 3 children, one of which is in the Sprints Program. Peter enjoys spending time with his family as well as staying active in his free time. He brings great communication and decision-making skills to the Spartans Track Club being a former sprinter, participating in meets that were held in Toronto. Peter is currently in charge of all the workshops. He is very delighted to be volunteering with such great people!
Member-at-Large – Franck Hounsokou
Franck’s background includes a BA in Communications. His current role is Director of Digital Technology with a local business in Calgary. Franck has volunteered as a U8 and U10 soccer coach, and as a fire warden during his previous job in Edmonton. His son joined the Spartans last spring as part of the AD Program. Franck looks forward to working with the board on communications, website development, and social media
Member-at-Large – Robyn Turner
Robyn currently works in Operations for Canada Border Services and has a vast history of volunteering since her teens including: political events, funding with SPCA, Calgary Municipal Heritage Properties Authority, school parents’ groups to raise money and help with policy, volunteer auctioning at events all over the City of Calgary, and most recently, the Calgary Stampede Window on the West Committee to promote Western Music. Robyn brings strong organizational skills, writing skills for grant purposes, fundraising skills (she is a ticketed auctioneer), reliability and dedication to work, and the perspective of a non-runner. Robyn is passionate about supporting her son who trains in the Spartans Distance Group. She is eager to learn and believes fitness and activity are key to not only a healthy body but a healthy mind and well being. She wants to give back and do amazing things to help out the Spartans Organization.